Upcoming Meetings & Events Schedule:

  • June 6( Thursday 7:30PM - Vet School): Chris Smith on “Fertilization in Planted Aquaria”, plus regular mini-auction.

  • June 7 (Friday all day): “Local aquatic plant and fish Collecting Field Trip” led by Gerald Pottern

  • June 8 (Saturday 1PM - Vet School): “How to to ID Aquarium Plants”, by  Gerald Pottern. Saturday session will also feature a mini-auction with focus on plants.  Participants can gather at NC CVM at 12:30pm.  Location of 11:30am lunch with speaker will be announced later. (Unfortunately the previously planned talk by Cavan Allan on “Identification of Native and Nursery Grown Aquatic Plants” will not take place; we hope to bring it at a future date.)

Past Events (2019):

  • May 2 (Thursday 7PM - Vet School): Catered Social + Discussion Centers + Wet Spot Order Pickup, "Water Quality Parameters" (Mark D Domanowski), “Aquarium Gadgets” (Thomas Narten) -NOTE: 7PM time

  • April 4 (Thursday - Vet School): Mini-talks: "Native Collecting Trip Review" (Gerald Pottern), "Growing and Flowering Crypts Emersed" (Steve Perkins), “Raising shrimp, ” (Richard Mullinax), “Using Liquid Carbon,” (Makeila Cox)

  • March 1-3, 2019: Annual Workshop/Auction @ Holiday Inn

  • March 7 (Thursday - Vet School): Bob Schraedley on “Killifish - The Chromas & Kathetys”

  • Jan 27 (Sunday - Holiday Inn) : RAS Tag Sale

  • Feb 7 (Thursday - Vet School): “A Look at RAS Members’ Aquaria” (various)

  • Jan 10 (Thursday - Vet School): Diana Walstad on “Small-Scale Guppy Breeding”

Past Events (2018):

  • Dec 6 (Thursday - Vet School): Holiday Party (bring dish to share)

  • Nov 1 (Thursday - Vet School): Three Mini Talks: Diana Walstad on “Raising Brine Shrimp”, Jamie Carr on “3-d Printing of Aquarium Parts” and Gabe Alrcon on “Marine Macroalgae: The Planted Reef”

  • Oct 28 (Sunday 10AM-5PM - Holiday Inn): Fall Auction

  • Oct 4 (Thursday - Vet School): Social with Sub Sandwiches + SIGs (Thomas Narten on “Inexpensive LED Lights”, Jon Hamm on “Breeding and Raising Baby Fish”, Gerald Pottern on “Catching and Keeping American Native Fish”)

  • Sept 23 (for October delivery): Wet Spot Group Buy

  • Sept 5 (Wednesday - Hibernian Pub): Ken Davis on How he has Kept and Bred over 1,000 Species. Have dinner and drinks at the Hibernian while we get together to talk fish. Ken’s presentation will be a Q&A discussion format for us to pick his brain on spawning and raising fry. He will also dazzle us with photos and interesting stories. It will be a fun evening!!

  • Sept 6 (Thursday - Vet School): Ken Davis on His fish collecting adventures in South and Central America

  • Sept 7 (Friday 10AM): Local Collecting Trip with Gerald Pottern

  • August 2 (Thursday - Vet School): Dave Herlong on Malawi Cichlids

  • August 4 (Saturday 11AM-3PM - Sertoma Park): Annual picnic (RAS supplies everything, bring dish to share)

  • July 5 (Thursday - Vet School): Alex Scharnberg on West African Cichlids

  • June 6 (Wednesday - Hibernian Pub): Special Guest Ted Judy speaks on "La Confluencia - the confluence of 3 important river systems in Columbia." Socializing/gathering @ 6:30, talk begins @ 7:30.

  • June 7 (Thursday - Vet School): Special Guest: Ted Judy speaks on "Pretty Places - inspirations for beautiful aquascapes."

  • May 3 (Thursday - Vet School 7PM): Pizza Social + Special Interest Group:

    • Note: Early start time of 7PM!!

    • David Herlong on African Cichlids

    • Richard Mullinax on Keeping Shrimp

    • Ticia Antinori on Beginning Plant Keeping

  • May 5 (Saturday, noon - Shelley Lake Park): Leadmine Creek Cleanup (Adopt A Stream)

  • April 4 (Wednesday - Hibernian Pub): Michael Barber on The Ultimate Fish Room

  • April 5 (Thursday - Vet School): Michael Barber on Collecting in Peru

  • April 6 (Friday - location TBD): Local Collecting Trip with Gerald Pottern

  • March 24 (Saturday): Michael Maieli hosts RAS table at NCSU Vet School Open House

  • March 1-5: 2018 Workshop & Auction

  • Feb 1 (Thursday): Arielle Wright & Chris Sotherden on What's so Fancy About Goldfish?

  • Jan 4 (Thursday): Mini presentations: Mark Domanowski on Breeding Black Worms, Allan Bryant on Water Treatment in NC: How it may Affect Aquariums, and Doug Brown on 2017 Spawnings by RAS Breeder of the Year